Back to Socialtext Documentation.
Administrative features are all under the "Settings" tab at the top of the screen. From here you can manage existing users, invite new users, configure your workspace, and create new workspaces. You must have Administrator privileges in a given workspace to use these features.
Under the "Settings " tab, select "Manage all users". A list of all workspace members will appear. For every member you may remove that member from the workspace, grant or revoke administrator privileges, or cause a password reset email to be sent, by checking (or clearing) the appropriate box. Click Save at the top to cause all changes to take effect. Once a member is removed, you will have to use Invite New Users to reinstate that member.
Under the "Settings" tab, select "Invite New Users". Invite people to the workspace, one email address per line, and optionally add a message from yourself. The people being added will get notified by email of their invitation to the workspace and will have accounts created for them if they don't already have one. Click Invite at the top of the page to send the invitations. If invitees report that they are not receiving invitations, this may be due to email filters or spam controllers such as "whitelisting".
Under the "Settings" tab, select "Create new workspace." You will be prompted for the title for the new workspace, and a short name used in the URL location for the workspace. After you create the workspace, you'll be able to view the workspace, configure the workspace using Workspace Settings, and Invite New Users to the workspace.
Under the "Settings" tab, select "Workspace Appearance". You will then be able to:Set the title of your workspace. It may be changed at any time. That will become the page title of your central page.
Choose an image for the workspace logo. It can be a gif, jpg, or png image. When the image is uploaded, it will be scaled to a reasonable size. It is not recommended that the option to use an image already on the web be used.
Set the "Home" link in this workspace brings up a personal dashboard for each user, or the central page of the workspace for all users?
Dashboard is best if most users have a number of other workspaces. Central page is best for a close-knit community in which most users only have one workspace. A public workspace will automatically get set to Central page as Home.
Under the "Settings" tab, select "Workspace Features". You will then be able to:Set the email receive option. When the workspace receives an email, the subject of the email becomes the title of a page, and the body of the email becomes the body of the page.
If there is already an existing page with that title, you may choose to insert the email content at the top of the page, append it to the bottom of the page, or replace the existing page content.
Enable/disable email notifications of changes to this workspace.
Choose to sort weblog entries by the date an entry is updated, or by the date an entry was first posted.
Choose to enable or disable the Unplugged feature for this workspace
Under the "Settings" tab, select "Workspace Privacy."
You can choose the level of privacy for your workspace. The available levels are:Private - only invited users can access the workspace
Public login-to-edit - anybody can see the workspace, users can register to be able to edit
Public read-only - anybody can see the workspace, only privately invited members can edit
Public read-and-comment-only - anybody can see the workspace and make comments, only privately invited members can edit
Fully public - anybody can see and edit pagesWarning: if you use the Fully public setting, the workspace is likely to be spammed
You can independently control email into this workspace:Who can send email to this workspace?
Anyone can send email to this workspace
Only registered users can send email to this workspace.
There is more detail about workspace privacy at Roles and Permission Sets and at Public Workspaces.
Back to Socialtext Documentation.